November 6, 2011

  • Still here!

    My it's been a very busy few months - I've been too rushed to blog anything and hardly said much on Facebook either (well hardly much for me!)

    After the summer school I've been doing the classes I was offered at BMC and I'm very happy with them both' nice Pre-intermediate classes with polite 
    and well behaved students. happy I miss my CPE students from last year but we keep in touch and meet up for the odd meal or trip to the pub so that's ok. 
     
    There have been a lot of changes at the college with a lot of staff leaving and a move to an amazing building in the 'Titanic Quarter' of Belfast but at the 
    end of the day it's all about the teaching and that's the reason I'm still hanging in there because I love to teach.


    With that in mind I have enrolled in an MA course in Education (Applied Linguistics) through the Open University. I've wanted to extend my teaching qualifications 
    for some years but never had the luck to find an employer to fund me - some said they would but never did. So, I've taken a chance and invested in myself! 
    I have to be honest though; I am finding it tough going - the first year is Educational Research and I'm finding it very dry and dull. I'm not interested in the subject 
    but I have to do it to get onto the next year. I will do my best but I'm finding it difficult to motivate myself to pick up my books.


    In addition to teaching and learning too I am still working in therapies and finding it good. It's been a quiet year for this type of work but then all the service 
    industries suffer in the current economic climate. I will keep going though as it pleases me to help other people when I can.


    Patrick and I are off to Gran Canaria in a week or so, we decided that with the care needs of Fintan it would be unfair to leave him over Xmas if we could help it as
     so many people who would normally jump to look after him are away or can't commit to a full week. We both need this holiday - P has been working seven days 
    a week on one project or another and with my timetable and his we've not had a full day that we can spend together. That causes strains of course but we are still 
    solid and still planning to have our civil ceremony - some time soon! Quite when that will be I'm not sure but it's pressure of work more than anything else that 
    keeps pushing it back.


    So, still happy, still healthy(ish) and rolling on!

Comments (2)

  • I am sorry for Fintan's health issues. I know that when our furry family is not all right, our world gets a bilt cricked. I love the photos on fb when you have time to post them. He loves having his photo taken. I doubt he admits that out lour ;) I am so impressed with how you keep on keepin' on with school, teaching and therapies. I really tried to make a go of "back to school", things got in the way and I let them stay there. I was never much of a class troom student. Thank you for posting. I love keeping up with your travels, hijinx and family photos.

  • Good luck with your studies - as my aunt would say to me: stick in. Enjoy your trip to Gran Canaria

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment