February 29, 2012

  • Jumping The Broomstick

    Still  not sleeping – managing about an hour in bed then it’s downstairs and dozing on the sofa. I’m not sure why it is that I have suddenly become a paid up member of the walking dead but it is beginning to become a pain! Recently I’ve been preparing for the second assignment in my first year MA studies and I know that that was a massive pain and stress but now that’s over and I’m still not sleeping. I can only assume that my body is gearing itself up for the next deadline in April. sad

    other than that things are going ok here in Belfast. 

    Of course I haven’t mentioned the Civil Partnership bus as nearly everyone I know has deserted Xanga in favour of Facebook. But, for posterity if nothing else… Patrick and I are getting hitched on 31 August 2011. We have over 250 guests coming – only 40 are exclusively mine by the way! It is exciting but not for perhaps the reason you might assume. I have invited people that I never dared to dream would actually be able to make it and have been surprised to see that they have accepted! So I have friends coming from the States, New Zealand and much of Europe. Some people are coming that I haven’t seen for several years now so it’s going to be a wonderful way to catch up with them and renew friendships. It occurred to me that the people coming from so far away might not get to actually see much of us on the ‘big day’ and even before and afterwards it would be potentially difficult to really enjoy their company so I have hit upon a plan. I have booked several bungalows here: www.giantscausway.com  and the afternoon after the wedding we are off to the beautiful Antrim Coast – if you don’t believe me then google the Giant’s Causeway, The Antrim Coastal Route and the Antrim Coast generally. So we will all have three nights there to hang out, tour a little and hopefully have glorious evenings with barbecues and beers. 

    Don’t get me wrong however; I’m very happy that Patrick and I are getting wed and the day itself will be wonderful – we’re having the ceremony at City Hall in Belfast (beautiful building), then another ceremony in The Crescent Arts Centre and then a reception there till late. It’s going to be great.

    So, we have some planning to do for that and both Patrick and I continue to be busy with our work, caring for lovely Fintan and also my very demanding MA studies but it’s all good as they say and I can’t really complain.

    More about the wedding as events transpire!

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *