January 3, 2004
-
Off to Gran Canaria on Monday morning! I’ve done everything I can to get the cafe running itself with the minimum of extra effort on behalf of my hardworking staff. I have my parents and then the boyf. to stay and look after Fintan, I only have to get my stuff together and pack!
If only it really were that simple!
‘Queer Eye for a Straight Guy’ is on in the background. I think it is awful, it must have been made by some right-wing group to provide more evidence to prove that we are indeed the shallow, youth-obsessed, vain, limp-wristed fools that they think we are! I hate using the ‘we’ in sentences like that ‘cos I don’t really feel I have that much in common with anyone other than the people I know and love right now. When did I lose the sense of community I once had? What can you define yourself as when you feel uncomfortable with the term ‘gay’ or for that matter ‘queer’? What am I?!!!
OOPS! Don’t know where that came from – it’s just that programme bugging me!!
I’ve only just finished watching the Belgium film ‘Man Bites Dog’. Have you seen it? That is one truly disturbing film, I first saw it about four years ago or so and I was shocked by such bold film making. It cost only $15,000 to make and wipes the floor with stuff like Reservoir Dogs.
Anyway, it’s late. I’ve been getting angina -like pains in my left arm and chest for the past week as I’ve been working 13 hour days. I need to sleep, (I need to see a doctor but I’m scared he’ll tell me I can’t go on my hols!), I need to sleep for ten hours but the dog always wakes me up at 6.00am. It seems he is as much a creature of habit as I.
Hope you have a good weekend – what’s left of it and HAPPY NEW YEAR! to you all!
Comments (7)
well
the thing about the queer eye show is that its a role reversal for those of us queers that were picked on and humiliated in high school. now its the queers belittling the straight guys and making them cower in fear.
revenge is a dish best served cold….!
enjoy your vacation!
Viva Espanola! I have always wanted to be gay but never have, and at 56, it’s too late now. But If I wasn’t born so long ago I think, I know I would have been, I have always loved men more than women.
On the contrary I’ve been taping the shows. I like the show because they are just being themselves and having fun. I don’t know if you could really please everyone with a perfect role model for the gay community or the straight community for that matter. People are just so multi faceted and complex. Sometimes what we see on the surface is only a glimpse of what can be going on inside. It always blows me away when I find out something about someone I’ve know for awhile and never knew that about them. Especially about my partner or a family member. People grow and change and stumble and fall and surprise you and wow you! I know I’m a people who likes people. Today that is. Let me stop. Hope you can put up some pics of your eatery. Checked out your skin site, it’s cool! Have a great vacation!
Have a good holiday. Please get your arm pains checked out on your return by the doc.
Queer Eye is just more trash from the shallow trash that runs “Hollywood”, they’re just making themselves look bad, nobody’s doing it to them, which is really far worse! ( I live in L.A. and by what I see, well, nevermind!)
I didn’t know you have a cafe now, I have to catch up!! Have a great trip!
Saw that film ‘man bites dog’ and it is disturbing….. did you get a chance to watch the comments by the film makers? Had to watch it twice to get the bold black humor.
That show QEFTSG, just isn’t something I’d be interested in looking at…..maybe cause I’m not a guy, or could be I distrust what media thinks is entertaining…..reality shows yuk.
Hope you take some time to rest on vacation…..
I’m just randomly leaving messages on peoples sites, I need some friends. You sound interesting. -Stef