February 18, 2011

  • Up in smoke

    I don't know if I mentioned it but I recently lost 50% of my classes at Belfast Metropolitan College - they were given to a full time member of staff to make up their hours! I was upset at first as I had spent quite a lot of time working with the group and leading them forwards towards the exam they will do in June, but there was no point kicking up a stink about it as at the end of the day I am a part time tutor on a temporary contract and there's nothing to stop them from dropping me in future years. The college is having problems with funding as are most of us in these days of cutbacks and depression and so I accepted my fate with as much grace as I could muster.

    The problem is though that the money I made from my teaching contracts paid my half of the rent etc and this sudden drop was cause for real concern. Or at least it was until I realised that the money I spent on cigarettes was roughly equivilant to the wages lost. It didn't take nme very long to come to the conclusion that it really is time to stop, and stop I have! It's been two weeks so far and I have saved so much money! I have also had a chest infection, sore throat and my sinuses have been running like mad - so not so healthy a start huh?! happy I have also started going back to the gym after the break for my holiday and then the ill health upon my return - it's great!

    Sadly I have to record that my beloved Aunt has gone into hospital in Aberystwyth this week for a mastectomy. As I write this she has had the operation and appears to be doing okay. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it hasn't spread.

Comments (2)

  • Sorry to read you've lost classes. It's a very hard climate at the moment and colleges and universities are just cutting back to survive the next 12 months. So far I've been lucky with Manchester University having made savings for a number of years now but it could go pear shaped too.

    Your giving up smoking will be hard but good for you in the long term. Stick with it. I only wish I could give up things with chocolate and sugar. Compared to how I was in the past I'm a lot better, but I still have moments where I go mad.

    Hope your aunt is recovering from the surgery. Thinking of you all. x

  • Wow! Quitting smoking during such a stressful time is huge. My thoughts are with your aunt. I hope her recovery continues with progress and good health. Nothing is as painful as sinus infections. I had them for a short time. I snuffled garlic juice with warm water up my nose and it seemed to work. Like a flush. Salt water is good to loosen the stuff but the garlic seems to get the infection. Gross but helpful. Good luck with the smokes. You are awesome. I love following you on FB!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *