April 3, 2011

  • Tempting Fate

    In the last blog I spoke about how much I was enjoying driving us out of the city for trips and sightseeing. Well I spoke too soon! a week or so ago I was driving back from the gym and slowed to turn into the street and the power just went from the car. sad I was on my own and had to get passers by to help me push the car out of the way - not easy when you consider that it is, in effec,t a van more than a car. It happened again and again over the next few days and I dropped it in at my garage - he suggested I consider buying a new car as this one will cost so much to repair that it probably just isn't worth it. I'm sad of course - it is my first car after all but in the end I have to either not have a car or have one I can reply upon. I'm taking it over to the Fiat dealership to get a second opinion but I've resigned myself to the fact that I'll be looking for a new car - and soon!

    That aside life goes on as before. Teaching at the college is getting even more interesting as we approach the exam season and I'm reasonably confident that my students will do well this year. I'm also happy that I will be getting summer school work from them again this year, though whether or not there will be any classes for me in the new teaching year in September 2011 is another thing.

    Fintan continues to surprise everyone with how bouncy and full of life he is - we have long walks in the park and he is happy to dander alongside me stopping to pee on daffodils and say hello to passing doggies.

    Easter is coming fast now and we have at least one house guest to look forward to over the season, my ex Conor. He and Patrick get on well - too well some would say as they tend to enjoy winding me up when they can. Hopefully I will have some kind of transport so I can take Conor out of Belfast to show him some of the beautiful places in Northern Ireland.

Comments (3)

  • Life in California with out a car is not for the faint of heart! I am so glad to read that Fintan is doing well and not letting his issues get him down. I guess ignorance is bliss. Although, not to suggest your darling lad is in any way ignorant. He will probably out live us all as we worry over every tiny little thing. This year is just rushing by!

  • @queenie - isn't it just!? I can't believe that is is April already - time for a holiday! :)

  • Sorry to hear about the car breaking down. Hope it won't be too long before you have new wheels again.

    Weather is wonderful here today (Wednesday) - sunny, warm but a little breezy but I'm not complaining after the long winter. x

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *